Harberton Folk

Folk & music links for South Devon (and beyond)

Home   Beyond Devon   Other South-West Venues   West Country festivals   Festivals in Britain   Previous Harberton Folk performers   Other music links

South(ern) Devon

Information service

Flaxey Green

www.flaxey-green.co.uk Information on local artistes, folk clubs, regular sessions in many Devon pubs and much more

Information service Devon Folk www.devonfolk.co.uk County-wide folk diary listings, folk song/dance club contacts etc. from Devon Folk Committee
Information service Devon Folk Directory www.devonfolkdirectory.org Find speakers, performers, workshop leaders, tutors, display teams and much more on all folk activities in Devon.
Ashburton Ashburton Arts www.ashburtonarts.org.uk A former chapel, now a multi-genre venue
Brixham Brixham Folk Club Brixham Folk Club meets at The Trawler, 66 North Boundary Road, Brixham TQ5 8LA.
Brixham Brixham Theatre www.brixhamtheatre.uk Occasional folk concerts
Calstock Calstock Arts www.calstockarts.org A former chapel, now a community venue with a mixed event programme including occasional folk
Calstock Calstock Hall www.calstockhall.com (email admin@calstockhall.com) Community venue with a mixed event programme including occasional folk
Dartington Dartington Trust www.dartington.org/whats-on Occasional major folk events in the spectacular setting of the 250 (?) seat Dartington Great Hall, near Totnes
Dartmouth The Flavel www.theflavel.org.uk Dartmouth's Arts Centre, occasional folk events (180 seats, 159 on rake, rest loose in front)
Exeter Barnfield Theatre www.barnfieldtheatre.org.uk Another Exeter venue catering for wide ranging tastes, including occasional folk events (289 seats)
Exeter Corn Exchange www.exeter.gov.uk/cornexchange/index.aspx?articleid=13927 Formerly St George's Hall - Central Exeter venue (500 seats or standing), with a 200+-seat rake
Exeter Cygnet Theatre www.cygnettheatre.co.uk Occasional folk events. sometimes in collaboration with Wren Muusic
Exeter Phoenix Arts Centre www.exeterphoenix.org.uk Wide range of musical events, including top folk acts (approx. 325 seats, 450 standing)
Exmouth Exmouth Pavilion www.ledleisure.co.uk/exmouth-pavilion/whats-on Occasional folk events; 500-seat venue in East Devon
Honiton Beehive Arts Centre www.beehivehoniton.co.uk Arts centre with a wide and expending range of quality arts events including folk (concerts and less formal events).
Ivybridge The Watermark www.ivybridgewatermark.co.uk Arts Centre in Ivybridge, occasional folk events, close to the A38 between Exeter and Plymouth (200 seats)
Ivybridge

Folk on the Moor Folk Club

www.moorfolk.co.uk Providing a fine programme of traditional folk evenings on Sundays

Meavy Meavy Events www.meavy.org.uk/events.htm Occasional folk events at the Parish Hall and the Royal Oak pub
Newton Abbot Abbotsbury Church www.worldunlimited.co.uk Frequent concerts, many folk, great cakes!
Otterton, nr Budleigh Salterton Otterton Mill www.ottertonmill.com Mill complex with shop, restaurant and garden. Indoor music spring/autumn in restaurant; outdoor music summer in courtyard
Paignton Palace Theatre www.palacetheatrepaignton.co.uk 368 seats, mixed programme, some folk
Plymouth B-Bar www.b-bar.co.uk At the Barbican Theatre in Plymouth
Plymouth Plymouth Pavilions www.plymouthpavilions.com Range of large-scale musical events - no folk normally, but veyr occasional major folk events
Plympton Brook Inn www.facebook.com/thebrookplympton Various music events including folk
Seaton Gateway Theatre www.thegatewayseaton.co.uk Occasional folk events?
South Hams Shamstrad www.shamstrad.co.uk Details of regular free concerts in Kingsbridge and various regular sessions in the South Hams
South Tawton Church House Concerts www.liveandacoustic.co.uk Wonderful intimate 50-seat venue in the beautifully restored church house (not a pub)
Tavistock The Wharf www.tavistockwharf.com Occasional folk events
Teignmouth Pavilions Teignmouth www.pavilionsteignmouth.org.uk Occasional folk events
Topsham nr Exeter Topsham Folk Club www.topshamfolkclub.co.uk Another thriving folk club with regular guest nights
Totnes The Barrel House Ballroom www.barrelhousetotnes.co.uk Offers a varied programme of events, with a strong focus on original live music, featuring a strong line-up of both local and international acts.
Widecombe in the Moor Widecombe Sailing Club www.widecombesailingclub.org.uk Currently 'resting' Folk music events (formerly combined with optional buffet supper, at the Cafe on the Green on Dartmoor, max. capacity 110; or at St Pancras Church)
Villages In Action Villages In Action www.villagesinaction.co.uk Scheme covering several of the district council areas in Devon which helps bring quality professional performances including some folk events and participatory workshops at affordable prices to communities through a network of local promoters
Exeter Barnfield Music Club www.barnfieldmusicclub.co.uk Open Mic Club Night currently held on the first Friday of every month at the Cafe Hub, Heavitree Park, Whipton Lane, Heavitree EX1 3DS
commencing at 7.00pm (Formerly at the Barnfield Theatre, venue currently - at 4/22 - under review)
Lympstone Lympstone events www.lympstone-entertainments.net Lympstone events (various genres)
Torbay (South) Maggie Duffy www.maggieduffy.co.uk Maggie Duffy, formerly promoting concerts in Brixham/Churston/Galmpton area
Information service Bonny Green www.bonnygreen.uk Folk dance band(s) and caller / folk music and song (Exeter based), publications, tuition and instruction
Information service South Hams Traditional Music www.shamstrad.co.uk Details of what's happening folkwise in the southern South Hams
Information service Devon Village Halls www.devonvillagehalls.co.uk Descriptions of and contact details for many of these community facilities across the county of Devon
South Devon Dartington Morris www.dartingtonmorris.uk (OK, I admit personal bias here!) Dancing programme and much more - a mixed side, dancing mostly Cotswold style morris
A Muddle Of Morris Global Morris Map https://amuddleofmorris.wordpress.com/2017/03/29/a-morris-map. A global map of morris dancing teams

Miscellaneous
What's On in South Brent: current (PDF) version of email circular
www.wildharmony.org.uk/attachments/article/13/Whats%20on%20in%20Brent_Current.pdf
Wegottickets.com latest events for SW England: www.wegottickets.com/searchresults/region/2/latest

Top

...and beyond

Artsreach www.artsreach.co.uk Arts development agency for Dorset (like Villages in Action in Devon)
Carn to Cove Cornwall’s performing arts touring scheme, bringing quality professional artists into rural areas, part of Cornwall Arts Centre Trust ACT
Take Art! Arts development agency for Somerset (like Villages in Action in Devon)
Folk in Somerset & Dorset SADFOLK - site giving access to regular emailed information about folk events across Somerset and Dorset
   
   
   
Map of folk song and folk dance clubs for Devon www.flaxey-green.co.uk/Pages/Folk_song_and_dance_clubs_map.html.
Another (global) folk music map is available at www.folkmusicmap.wordpress.com.
UK Folk Music www.ukfolkmusic.uk Folk music website
Martin Nail's list www.englishfolkinfo.org.uk (linked updated 15/1/11) English folk and traditional music on the Internet - A guide to resources - well worth a look
Plough Arts Centre www.theploughartscentre.org.uk Great Torrington, N Devon
Umber Music www.shammickacoustic.org.uk Shammick Acoustic, North Devon folk information
Wren Devon’s specialist folk and community arts development organisation, based in Okehampton
BeafordArts Operating a rural touring scheme with some folk events in the north of Devon

Folk in Cornwall

What it says on the tin www.folkincornwall.co.uk - clubs, sessions, events...

Bodmin Folk Club www.bodminfolk.co.uk Excellent club west of the Tamar meeting Fridays, regular top guests
Milverton Music Club Regular monthly club with guest nights, west of Taunton
Culm Valley Music & Performance Club www.culmvalleymusicclub.co.uk Magelake Hall, Uffculme EX15 3DR. Close to M5 Jct 27.
Halsway Manor Halsway Manor Folk Music Centre, Crowcombe, off A358 between Taunton and Minehead
Artsreach Arts development agency for rural Dorset (like Villages in Action in South Devon)
Folk South West Folk arts development agency for the South West Arts region, running various workshops and projects
Mr Red's Mid West Venue lists, dance dates & festivals in Gloucestershire and adjacent counties
SCOFF South Counties Folk Federation - a wealth of information about folk clubs and much more across southern England
EFDSS English Folk Dance and Song Society
The Music Well An online resource for folk music: songs tunes and stories, ancient and modern, from all the British islands, with an extensive billboard and new releases section (formerly called Radio Britfolk)

Webfeet

www.webfeet.org National ceilidh listings

Set and Turn Single www.setandturnsingle.org.uk The listing magazine for folk dancers
www.musicevents.co.uk Listings of Devon based artists and venues for various musical genres
Folklore & Mythology Resource Guide www.supersummary.com/folklore-mythology-guide What it says on the tin
www.musicevents.co.uk Listings of Devon based artists and venues for various musical genres

Top

Other South-West Venues with some Folk Events

North Devon  
Landmark Theatre www.northdevontheatres.org.uk Ilfracombe (483 seats)
Plough Arts Centre www.theploughartscentre.org.uk Great Torrington (132 raked seats plus 100 chairs)
Queen's Theatre www.northdevontheatres.org.uk Barnstaple (688 seats)
Cornwall  
Acorn Arts Centre www.theacornpenzance.com Penzance (150 seats approx.)
Princess Pavilion www.carrickleisureservices.org.uk Falmouth (87 miles from Totnes)
The Rum Store www.carnglaze.com Interesting underground venue in old slate workings (Carnglaze Caverns) near Liskeard, offering occasional folk events (400-450 seats, 45 miles from Totnes)
Sterts Theatre www.sterts.co.uk Upton Cross, Liskeard (400+ seats, 43 miles from Totnes) Covered outdoor venue. Possibly take a cushion, and a blanket for cool summer evenings. Performances finish by 10pm due to location.
Somerset  
The Brewhouse www.thebrewhouse.net Taunton - theatre and arts centre (354 seats)
Bridgwater Arts Centre www.bridgwaterartscentre.co.uk Bridgwater - includes regular folk events (66 miles from Totnes)
Cheese and Grain www.cheeseandgrain.co.uk Frome - occasional major folk events (101 miles from Totnes)
Merlin Theatre www.merlintheatre.co.uk Frome - various interesting arts events
David Hall Arts Centre www.thedavidhall.org.uk South Petherton 01460 240340, programme includes regular folk events (71 miles from Totnes). See also www.sadfolk.co.uk for events at David Hall
Octagon Theatre www.octagon-theatre.co.uk Yeovil
Dorset  
Electric Palace, Bridport www.electricpalace.org.uk Bridport: (400 seated incl. balcony; 500+ standing) Former cinema; mixed arts programme including big folk names
Bridport Arts Centre www.bridport-arts.com Bridport: 70 miles from Totnes
Marine Theatre www.marinetheatre.com Lyme Regis: 50 miles from Totnes

Top

West Country festivals

While some of the following information may be out of date at the time of reading, the links should at least give a point of contact. Folk content ranges from 100% to minimal. Chronological order. No current information found for entries not in bold.

Green Man Festival 30 April 2022 - Bovey Tracey, mainly morris dancing
Brixham Pirate Festival 30 April - 2 May 2022 - Pirates, shanties, sea songs and more www.brixhampirates.com
Dart Music Festival 6-8 May 2022 - Dartmouth, mostly free, largely outdoor, many types of music www.dartmusicfestival.co.uk
Pirates Weekend Plymouth 7/8 May 2022 - www.facebook.com/plymouthpirates
Bude & Stratton Folk Festival 26-30 May 2022 - www.budefolkfest.com
Exmouth Festival 2-5 June 2022 - www.facebook.com/ExmouthFestival Multi-genre (free) festival
Craft Festival 17-19 June 2022 - www.craftfestival.co.uk See Bovey Tracey event details
Teignmouth Folk Festival 17-19 June 2022 - www.teignmouthfolk.co.uk
Moreton Music Day 3 July 2022 - Day of music in Moretonhampstead www.facebook.com/MoretonMusicDay
South Brent Folk Day 6 July 2019 - No Folk Day in 2022 www.southbrentfolk.org.uk
Chagstock Festival 22/23 July 2022 - Various genres www.chagstock.info
Dartington International Summer School & Festival 23 July - 20 August 2022 - www.dartington.org/whats-on/programme/summer-school
Sidmouth Folk Festival 29 July - 5 August 2022 - www.sidmouthfolkfestival.co.uk
Sidmouth Fringe Sessions 30 July - 3 August 2022 - www.sidmouthfringe.co.uk
Dartmoor Folk Festival 5-7 August 2022 - always the weekend after Sidmouth, at South Zeal near Okehampton www.dartmoorfolkfestival.org.uk
Beautiful Days 19-21 August 2022 - Escot Park near Exeter www.beautifuldays.org
Cornwall Folk Festival 26-29 August 2022 - Wadebridge www.cornwallfolkfestival.com
Lyme Folk Weekend 2-4 September 2022 - Lyme Regis www.lymefolk.com
Nourish Festival 10 September 2022 - Bovey Tracey - craft ~ food ~ music www.nourishfestival.org
St Ives September Festival 10-24 September 2022 - lots of big folk and much more www.stivesseptemberfestival.co.uk
Teign Maritime & Shanty Festival 8-10 September 2023 - Now a bi-annual festival, Teignmouth www.teignshantyfestival.co.uk
Salcombe Live Festival 7-9 October 2022 - Salcombe, South Devon www.salcombe-live.co.uk
Baring-Gould Song School 21-25 October 2019 - Okehampton, run by Wren Music www.wrenmusic.co.uk/Events-2019
Baring-Gould Folk Weekend 25-27 October 2019 - Okehampton, run by Wren Music www.wrenmusic.co.uk/Events-2019
fROOTS/Spiral Earth fROOTS/Spiral Earth comprehensive listing of all festivals in Britain -
www.spiralearth.co.uk/category/festivals
UK Folk Festivals Site listing all UK folk festivals www.ukfolkfestivals.co.uk

Top

Previous Harberton Folk performers (including local supports)

Aly Bain & Phil Cunningham THE top two traditional Scottish musicians
Ashley Hutchings The 'Guvnor'
Barron Brady Superbly talented local duo Simon Barron and Ros Brady, Harberton Folk support
Battlefield Band Legendary Scottish band

Phil Beer

Folk and world music performer extraordinaire (many further folk links)

Boscastle Busker Wonderful unaccompanied singing
Joe Broughton (and his brother Ben Broughton) Fiddle brilliance, not to mention unicycling!
Tom & Barbara Brown West Country specialists, Umber Music, Shammick Acoustic and more
The Carrivick Sisters South Devon twins, BBC Young Folk Award 2010 finalists, bluegrass style, Harberton Folk support

Martin / Eliza Carthy

 

Chanter 4-piece band playing traditional and contemporary Celtic music
Fairport Convention Do they need any description? Always superb!
Margaret Duffy www.maggieduffy.co.uk Lovely lady, beautiful voice, good friend of Harberton Folk, accompanied by another Harberton Folk friend Mike Weed
Tim van Eyken www.facebook.com/TvanEyken Former member of Waterson:Carthy and former BBC Young Folk Award winner

(Dr.) Faustus

Tim van Eyken, Paul Sartin, Rob Harbron and Benji Kirkpatrick - disbanded 2005.
See Faustus Band (Paul and Benji plus Saul Rose) www.myspace.com/faustustrio and www.faustusband.com.

Vin Garbutt

Vin came back on the road after heart surgery in 2005

Gigspanner Ex-Steeleye Span fiddler Peter Knight's trio
Hanging Johnny Popular West Country shanty crew based in Plymouth and East Cornwall
Jiggerypipery Local band playing Celtic Funk 'n Roll dance music
John Kirkpatrick The squeezebox and singing wizard who started off the whole Harberton Folk programme
John Richards Band www.songwriter.thejrbs.co.uk Another superb Harberton Folk support
Maddy Prior Maddy's various activities are to be found on the Park Records site
Mayor & James Simon Mayor, mandolin maestro, and the beautiful voice of Hilary James
Moor Music Mark Bazeley, Jason Rice and Rob Murch (from Dartmoor Pixie Band) continuing the Dartmoor tradition
New Rope String Band Taking over where Old Rope String Band left off following the sad loss of Joe Scurfield
New Scorpion Band Brian Gulland, Robin Jeffrey, Sharon Lindo and Bob White - musical excellence!
Oysterband One of the great folk rock bands performed superb 'acoustic' shows for Harberton Folk
Random Top-line 6-piece nationally touring ceilidh band (currently taking a sabbatical)
Saul Rose Waterson Carthy melodeon player, member of Faustus trio and Random ceilidh band

Show of Hands

Steve Knightley & Phil Beer

Spiers & Boden John Spiers & Jon Boden, BBC Folk Awards Best Duo 2004. Fantastic duo, also part of former Bellowhead and Eliza Carthy's Ratcatchers. No longer on the road as a duo.
St Agnes Fountain Chris While, Julie Matthews, Chris Leslie and David Hughes with their hugely popular Christmas special. See also www.whileandmatthews.co.uk
Dave Swarbick Ex-Fairport legend (had double lung transplant in 2004, passed away in 2016)
Kathryn Tickell Northumbrian pipes and fiddle)

Top

Miscellaneous, requested and 'other music' links

Concertinas UK www.concertinas-uk.co.uk The home of free reed instrument repairs and concertina sales. Nigel and Sarah Sture. Based in the South Hams.
Plymouth Classical Music Concert Diary Comprehensive month-by-month listings of all types of classical music in and around Plymouth. Also includes some Jazz and Folk
Plymouth Music Accord Registered Charity promoting the appreciation and performance of music in the Plymouth area. Members include local orchestras, bands, choirs, opera groups, etc. and many promoters and venues
Nettlebed Folk Club Award-winning folk club near Henley in Oxfordshire

Top