Harberton Folk

Folk & music links for South Devon (and beyond)

Home   Beyond Devon   Other South-West Venues   West Country festivals   Festivals in Britain   Previous Harberton Folk performers   Other music links

South(ern) Devon

Information service

Flaxey Green

www.flaxey-green.co.uk Information on local artistes, folk clubs, regular sessions in many South Devon pubs and much more

Information service Devon Folk www.devonfolk.co.uk County-wide folk diary listings, folk song/dance club contacts etc. from Devon Folk Committee
Ashburton Ashburton Arts www.ashburtonarts.org.uk A former chapel, now a multi-genre venue
Brixham Brixham Folk Club Brixham Folk Club meets at The Trawler, 66 North Boundary Road, Brixham TQ5 8LA.
Brixham Brixham Theatre www.brixhamtheatre.uk Occasional folk concerts
Calstock Calstock Arts www.calstockarts.org A former chapel, now a community venue with a mixed event programme including occasional folk
Calstock Calstock Hall www.calstockhall.com (email admin@calstockhall.com) Community venue with a mixed event programme including occasional folk
Dartmouth The Flavel www.theflavel.org.uk Dartmouth's Arts Centre, occasional folk events (180 seats, 159 on rake, rest loose in front)
Exeter Barnfield Theatre www.barnfieldtheatre.org.uk Another Exeter venue catering for wide ranging tastes, including occasional folk events (289 seats)
Exeter Corn Exchange www.exeter.gov.uk/cornexchange/index.aspx?articleid=13927 Formerly St George's Hall - Central Exeter venue (500 seats or standing), with a 200+-seat rake
Exeter Cygnet Theatre www.cygnettheatre.co.uk Occasional folk events. sometimes in collaboration with Wren Muusic
Exeter Phoenix Arts Centre www.exeterphoenix.org.uk Wide range of musical events, including top folk acts (approx. 325 seats, 450 standing)
Honiton Beehive Arts Centre www.beehivehoniton.co.uk Arts centre with a wide and expending range of quality arts events including folk (concerts and less formal events).
Ivybridge The Watermark www.ivybridgewatermark.co.uk Arts Centre in Ivybridge, occasional folk events, close to the A38 between Exeter and Plymouth (200 seats)
was at  Lee Mill, currently seeking new venue

Folk on the Moor Folk Club

www.moorfolk.co.uk Providing a fine programme of traditional folk evenings on Sundays

Meavy Meavy Events www.meavy.org.uk/events.htm Occasional folk events at the Parish Hall and the Royal Oak pub
Newton Abbot Abbotsbury Church www.worldunlimited.co.uk Frequent concerts, many folk, great cakes!
Otterton, nr Budleigh Salterton Otterton Mill www.ottertonmill.com Mill complex with shop, restaurant and garden. Indoor music spring/autumn in restaurant; outdoor music summer in courtyard
Paignton Palace Theatre www.palacetheatrepaignton.co.uk 380-ish seat, mixed programme, some folk
Plymouth B-Bar www.b-bar.co.uk At the Barbican Theatre in Plymouth
Plympton Brook Inn www.facebook.com/thebrookplympton Various music events including folk
South Hams Shamstrad www.shamstrad.co.uk Details of regular free concerts in Kingsbridge and various regular sessions in the South Hams
South Tawton Church House Concerts www.liveandacoustic.co.uk Wonderful intimate 50-seat venue in the beautifully restored church house (not a pub)
Tavistock The Wharf www.tavistockwharf.com Occasional folk events
Teignmouth Pavilions Teignmouth www.pavilionsteignmouth.org.uk Occasional folk events
Topsham nr Exeter Topsham Folk Club www.topshamfolkclub.co.uk Another thriving folk club with regular guest nights
Torbay (South) Maggie Duffy www.maggieduffy.co.uk Maggie Duffy promoting concerts in Brixham/Churston/Galmpton area
Totnes The Barrel House Ballroom www.barrelhousetotnes.co.uk Offers a varied programme of events, with a strong focus on original live music, featuring a strong line-up of both local and international acts.
Widecombe in the Moor Widecombe Sailing Club www.widecombesailingclub.org.uk Folk music events (combined with optional buffet supper) at the Cafe on the Green on Dartmoor. Max. capacity 110.
Villages In Action Villages In Action www.villagesinaction.co.uk Scheme covering 5 of 7 district council areas in Devon which helps bring quality professional performances including some folk events and participatory workshops at affordable prices to communities through a network of local promoters
Plymouth Plymouth Pavilions www.plymouthpavilions.com Range of large-scale musical events - no folk normally, but well worth a look
Exmouth Exmouth Pavilion www.exmouthpavilion.co.uk 500-seat venue in East Devon
Exeter Barnfield Music Club www.barnfieldmusicclub.co.uk Regular monthly event at the Barnfield Theatre in Exeter: "An opportunity for singers with instrumental or harmony accompaniment to display and improve their talents and abilities before an audience in an amplified theatre setting"
East Devon East Devon Folk www.eastdevonfolk.org News and information for folk in East Devon
Lympstone Lympstone events www.lympstoneentertainments.co.uk/drumbeat Lympstone events (various genres) in 'Drumbeat'
Exeter Exeter Ceilidhs Exeter Ceilidhs, new ceilidh series from December 2018 www.exeterceilidhs.net
Dartington Arts at Dartington www.dartington.org/whats-on All Arts at Dartington activities (possible very occasional folk events)
Information service Bonny Green www.bonnygreen.co.uk Folk dance band(s) and caller / folk music and song (Exeter based), publications, tuition and instruction
Information service South Hams Traditional Music www.shamstrad.co.uk Details of what's happening at the Crabshell in Kingsbridge (concerts/regular session) and the sessions at the Globe Inn in Frogmore and the Royal Oak in Malborough
Information service Devon Village Halls www.devonvillagehalls.co.uk Descriptions of and contact details for many of these community facilities across the county of Devon
South Devon Dartington Morris Men www.dartingtonmorrismen.org.uk Dancing programme and much more (OK, I admit personal bias here!)
A Muddle Of Morris Global Morris Map https://amuddleofmorris.wordpress.com/2017/03/29/a-morris-map. A global map of morris dancing teams

Miscellaneous
What's On in South Brent: current (PDF) version of email circular
www.wildharmony.org.uk/attachments/article/13/Whats%20on%20in%20Brent_Current.pdf
Wegottickets.com latest events for SW England: www.wegottickets.com/searchresults/region/2/latest

Top

...and beyond

Map of folk song and folk dance clubs for Devon www.flaxey-green.co.uk/Pages/Folk_song_and_dance_clubs_map.html.
Another (global) folk music map is available at www.folkmusicmap.wordpress.com.
UK Folk Music www.ukfolkmusic.uk Folk music website
Martin Nail's list www.englishfolkinfo.org.uk (linked updated 15/1/11) English folk and traditional music on the Internet - A guide to resources - well worth a look
Plough Arts Centre www.theploughartscentre.org.uk Great Torrington, N Devon
Umber Music www.shammickacoustic.org.uk Shammick Acoustic, North Devon folk information
Wren Devon’s specialist folk and community arts development organisation, based in Okehampton
BeafordArts Operating a rural touring scheme with some folk events in the north of Devon

Folk in Cornwall

What it says on the tin www.folkincornwall.co.uk - clubs, sessions, events...

Bodmin Folk Club www.bodminfolk.co.uk Excellent club west of the Tamar meeting Fridays, regular top guests
Carn to Cove Cornwall’s performing arts touring scheme, bringing quality professional artists into rural areas, part of Cornwall Arts Centre Trust ACT
Liskeard Concert Series www.liskeardconcertseries.btck.co.uk (some folk content) "We aim to provide Liskeard and the surrounding area with a series of concerts using international musicians and the best local talent. Visit the "about us" page to learn more about our aims. Currently we are fundraising toward our first series so check back regularly for details of forthcoming fundraising concerts and events."
Folk in Somerset & Dorset SADFOLK - site giving access to regular emailed information about folk events across Somerset and Dorset
   
Milverton Music Club Regular monthly club with guest nights, west of Taunton
Culm Valley Music & Performance Club www.culmvalleymusicclub.co.uk Magelake Hall, Uffculme EX15 3DR. Close to M5 Jct 27.
Take Art! Arts development agency for Somerset (like Villages in Action in South Devon)
   
Halsway Manor Halsway Manor Folk Music Centre, Crowcombe, off A358 between Taunton and Minehead
Artsreach Arts development agency for rural Dorset (like Villages in Action in South Devon)
Folk South West Folk arts development agency for the South West Arts region, running various workshops and projects
Mr Red's Mid West Venue lists, dance dates & festivals in Gloucestershire and adjacent counties
SCOFF South Counties Folk Federation - a wealth of information about folk clubs and much more across southern England
EFDSS English Folk Dance and Song Society
The Music Well An online resource for folk music: songs tunes and stories, ancient and modern, from all the British islands, with an extensive billboard and new releases section (formerly called Radio Britfolk)

Webfeet

www.webfeet.org National ceilidh listings

Set and Turn Single www.setandturnsingle.org.uk The listing magazine for folk dancers
www.musicevents.co.uk Listings of Devon based artists and venues for various musical genres
Folklore & Mythology Resource Guide www.supersummary.com/folklore-mythology-guide What it says on the tin
www.musicevents.co.uk Listings of Devon based artists and venues for various musical genres

Top

Other South-West Venues with some Folk Events

North Devon  
Landmark Theatre www.northdevontheatres.org.uk Ilfracombe (483 seats)
Plough Arts Centre www.theploughartscentre.org.uk Great Torrington (132 raked seats plus 100 chairs)
Queen's Theatre www.northdevontheatres.org.uk Barnstaple (688 seats)
Cornwall  
Acorn Arts Centre www.theacornpenzance.com Penzance (150 seats approx.)
Princess Pavilion www.carrickleisureservices.org.uk Falmouth (87 miles from Totnes)
The Rum Store www.carnglaze.com Interesting underground venue in old slate workings (Carnglaze Caverns) near Liskeard, offering occasional folk events (400-450 seats, 45 miles from Totnes)
Sterts Theatre www.sterts.co.uk Upton Cross, Liskeard (400+ seats, 43 miles from Totnes) Covered outdoor venue. Possibly take a cushion, and a blanket for cool summer evenings. Performances finish by 10pm due to location.
Somerset  
The Brewhouse www.thebrewhouse.net Taunton - theatre and arts centre (354 seats)
Bridgwater Arts Centre www.bridgwaterartscentre.co.uk Bridgwater - includes regular folk events (66 miles from Totnes)
Cheese and Grain www.cheeseandgrain.co.uk Frome - occasional major folk events (101 miles from Totnes)
Merlin Theatre www.merlintheatre.co.uk Frome - various interesting arts events
David Hall Arts Centre www.thedavidhall.org.uk South Petherton 01460 240340, programme includes regular folk events (71 miles from Totnes). See also www.sadfolk.co.uk for events at David Hall
Octagon Theatre www.octagon-theatre.co.uk Yeovil
Dorset  
Electric Palace, Bridport www.electricpalace.org.uk Bridport: (400 seated incl. balcony; 500+ standing) Former cinema; mixed arts programme including big folk names
Bridport Arts Centre www.bridport-arts.com Bridport: 70 miles from Totnes
Marine Theatre www.marinetheatre.com Lyme Regis: 50 miles from Totnes

Top

West Country festivals

Hopefully this section will contain meaningful information in 2022

While some of the following information may be out of date at the time of reading, the links should at least give a point of contact. Folk content ranges from 100% to minimal. Chronological order. No current information found for entries not in bold.

Green Man Festival 27 April 2019 - Bovey Tracey, mainly morris dancing
Brixham Pirate Festival 2/3 May 2020 - Pirates, shanties, sea songs and more www.brixhampirates.com
Dart Music Festival 15-17 May 2020 - Dartmouth, mostly free, largely outdoor, many types of music www.dartmusicfestival.co.uk
Pirates Weekend Plymouth 11-12 May 2019 - details to follow
Bude & Stratton Folk Festival 22-25 May 2020 - www.budefolkfest.com
Craft Festival 12-14 June 2020 - www.craftfestival.co.uk
Teignmouth Folk Festival 21-23 June 2019 - www.teignmouthfolk.co.uk
Moreton Music Day 23 June 2019 - Day of music in Moretonhampstead www.facebook.com/MoretonMusicDay
South Brent Folk Day 6 July 2019 - www.southbrentfolk.org.uk
Chagstock Festival 19/20 July 2019 - 13th anniversary, various genres, (probably) including some folk www.chagstock.info Early bird weekend camping tickets available from 28.10.16
Dartington International Summer School & Festival 27 July - 24 August 2019 - www.dartington.org/whats-on/programme/summer-school
Sidmouth Folk Festival 31 July - 7 August 2020 - www.sidmouthfolkfestival.co.uk
Sidmouth Fringe Sessions 3-7 August 2019 - www.sidmouthfringe.co.uk
Dartmoor Folk Festival 9-11 August 2019 - always the weekend after Sidmouth, at South Zeal near Okehampton www.dartmoorfolkfestival.org.uk
Beautiful Days 21-23 August 2020 - Escot Park near Exeter www.beautifuldays.org
Cornwall Folk Festival 22-26 August 2019 - Wadebridge www.cornwallfolkfestival.com
Hawkfest 27-29 August 2021 - Axminster, Hawkwind's own festival www.hawkwindmuseum.co.uk
Lyme Folk Weekend 30 August - 1 September 2019 - Lyme Regis www.lymefolk.com
Nourish Festival 31 August 2019 - Bovey Tracey - craft ~ food ~ music www.nourishfestival.org
Cornish Bluegrass Festival 13-15 September 2019 - Newquay, what it says on the tin www.cornishbluegrass.co.uk
St Ives September Festival 14-28 September 2019 - lots of big folk and much more www.stivesseptemberfestival.co.uk
Teign Shanty Festival 28/29 September 2019 - Second Festival, Teignmouth www.teignshantyfestival.co.uk
Salcombe Live Festival 11-13 October 2019 - The first Salcombe 'Live' Festival www.salcombe-live.co.uk
Baring-Gould Song School 21-25 October 2019 - Okehampton, run by Wren Music www.wrenmusic.co.uk/Events-2019
Baring-Gould Folk Weekend 25-27 October 2019 - Okehampton, run by Wren Music www.wrenmusic.co.uk/Events-2019
Bude Folk Roots & World Music Festival 15-17 November 2019 www.budefolkfestival.co.uk (prior to 2018 was at Ilfracombe)
fROOTS/Spiral Earth fROOTS/Spiral Earth comprehensive listing of all festivals in Britain - www.spiralearth.co.uk/festivals/default.asp.html
UK Folk Festivals Site listing all UK folk festivals www.ukfolkfestivals.co.uk

Top

Previous Harberton Folk performers (including local supports)

Aly Bain & Phil Cunningham THE top two traditional Scottish musicians
Ashley Hutchings The 'Guvnor'
Barron Brady Superbly talented local duo Simon Barron and Ros Brady, Harberton Folk support
Battlefield Band Legendary Scottish band

Phil Beer

Folk and world music performer extraordinaire (many further folk links)

Boscastle Busker Wonderful unaccompanied singing
Joe Broughton (and his brother Ben Broughton) Fiddle brilliance, not to mention unicycling!
Tom & Barbara Brown West Country specialists, Umber Music, Shammick Acoustic and more
The Carrivick Sisters South Devon twins, BBC Young Folk Award 2010 finalists, bluegrass style, Harberton Folk support

Martin / Eliza Carthy

 

Chanter 4-piece band playing traditional and contemporary Celtic music
Fairport Convention Do they need any description? Always superb!
Margaret Duffy www.maggieduffy.co.uk Lovely lady, beautiful voice, good friend of Harberton Folk, accompanied by another Harberton Folk friend Mike Weed
Tim van Eyken www.facebook.com/TvanEyken Former member of Waterson:Carthy and former BBC Young Folk Award winner

(Dr.) Faustus

Tim van Eyken, Paul Sartin, Rob Harbron and Benji Kirkpatrick - disbanded 2005.
See Faustus Band (Paul and Benji plus Saul Rose) www.myspace.com/faustustrio and www.faustusband.com.

Vin Garbutt

Vin came back on the road after heart surgery in 2005

Gigspanner Ex-Steeleye Span fiddler Peter Knight's trio
Hanging Johnny Popular West Country shanty crew based in Plymouth and East Cornwall
Jiggerypipery Local band playing Celtic Funk 'n Roll dance music
John Kirkpatrick The squeezebox and singing wizard who started off the whole Harberton Folk programme
John Richards Band www.songwriter.thejrbs.co.uk Another superb Harberton Folk support
Maddy Prior Maddy's various activities are to be found on the Park Records site
Mayor & James Simon Mayor, mandolin maestro, and the beautiful voice of Hilary James
Moor Music Mark Bazeley, Jason Rice and Rob Murch (from Dartmoor Pixie Band) continuing the Dartmoor tradition
New Rope String Band Taking over where Old Rope String Band left off following the sad loss of Joe Scurfield
New Scorpion Band Brian Gulland, Robin Jeffrey, Sharon Lindo and Bob White - musical excellence!
Oysterband One of the great folk rock bands performed superb 'acoustic' shows for Harberton Folk
Random Top-line 6-piece nationally touring ceilidh band (currently taking a sabbatical)
Saul Rose Waterson Carthy melodeon player, member of Faustus trio and Random ceilidh band

Show of Hands

Steve Knightley & Phil Beer

Spiers & Boden John Spiers & Jon Boden, BBC Folk Awards Best Duo 2004. Fantastic duo, also part of former Bellowhead and Eliza Carthy's Ratcatchers. No longer on the road as a duo.
St Agnes Fountain Chris While, Julie Matthews, Chris Leslie and David Hughes with their hugely popular Christmas special. See also www.whileandmatthews.co.uk
Dave Swarbick Ex-Fairport legend (had double lung transplant in 2004, passed away in 2016)
Kathryn Tickell Northumbrian pipes and fiddle)

Top

Miscellaneous, requested and 'other music' links

Concertinas UK www.concertinas-uk.co.uk The home of free reed instrument repairs and concertina sales. Nigel and Sarah Sture. Based in the South Hams.
Plymouth Classical Music Concert Diary Comprehensive month-by-month listings of all types of classical music in and around Plymouth. Also includes some Jazz and Folk
Plymouth Music Accord Registered Charity promoting the appreciation and performance of music in the Plymouth area. Members include local orchestras, bands, choirs, opera groups, etc. and many promoters and venues
Nettlebed Folk Club Award-winning folk club near Henley in Oxfordshire

Top